Love’s Brigade

Oh, my mind is spinning around in circles.
Back and forth of right and wrong,
Black and white, night and day.

Would you stay for a while?

Oh, these words are rushing through my mind.
How could I have been so blind?
Oh, I can’t believe what he said that night.
All these words are sounding so trite.

Would you rest with me just for awhile?

I thought we had it made.
We were just another pawn in that simple game.
We ran, we sang, we played,
Just another role in love’s brigade.
Firing shots straight to a heartache.

breakup2007

Summer 2007

Oh, the stars are shining down on us.
In your truck, you confessed,
Everything.
Oh, how could this be, happening?
Tears fall on every word you say.
“Please stay, don’t go away.”

Would you lay with me for awhile?

I thought we had it made.
We were just another pawn in that simple game.
We ran, we sang, we played,
Just another role in love’s brigade.
Firing shots straight to a heartache.

Oh, I thought we had it made.
In this lovers play, he went away.
We cry, we fight, to keep it alive.
Just another time, when the boy says goodbye.
Firing shots straight to a heartache.

Would you rest with me just for awhile?
As we play another role in love’s brigade?

written: Summer 2007

Leave a Reply

